Swaran Singh Committee and Members

Swaran Singh Committee: Swaran Singh was chairperson of the committee entrusted with the responsibility of studying the Constitution of India in 1976 during the national emergency. Soon after the declaration of the national emergency, Indira Gandhi constituted a committee under the Chairmanship of Sardar Swaran Singh to study the question of amending the constitution in the light of past experiences. Based on its recommendations, the government incorporated several changes to the Constitution including the Preamble, through the Forty-second Amendment of the Constitution of India (passed in 1976 and came into effect on 3 January 1977). He was awarded Padma Vibhushan award - the second highest civil award by the republic of India in 1992. Swarn Singh Committee was having total 12 Members which are following:
1. Swaran Singh - Chairman
2. A.R. Antulay
3. S.S. Ray
4. Rajni Patel
5. HR Gokhale
6. VA Sayed Muhammed
7. VN Gadgil
8. CM Stephen
9. DP Singh
10. Dinesh Goswami
11. Vasanth Sathe
12. BN Banerjee


Post a Comment