Dams on Chambal River in Rajasthan, MP

Dams on Chambal River: The Chambal river originates at Manpura, south of Mhow town, near Indore, on the south slope of the Vindhya Range in Madhya Pradesh. Chambal River flows through a deep gorge, while lower down, there are wide plains. Chambal play vital role in Irrigation and Electricity generation in South-East Rajasthan with Four Main Dams on Chambal in Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh (MP). These dams are:
1. Gandhisagar Dam: The Gandhi Sagar dam is the first of the four dams built on the Chambal River, located on the Rajasthan-Madhya Pradesh border. It is a 64 metre high masonry gravity dam, with a live storage capacity of 6,920 Mm³ and a catchment area of 22,584 km², of which only 1,537 km² is in Rajasthan. The dam was completed in the year 1960. The hydro-power station comprises five generating units of 23 MW capacity each(Total=115 MW). The water released after power generation is utilised for irrigation through Kota Barrage.
2. Rana Pratap Sagar dam: The Rana Pratap Sagar dam is a dam located 52 km downstream of Gandhi Sagar dam on across the Chambal River near Rawatbhata in Chittorgarh district in Rajasthan. It was completed in the year 1970 and it is the second in the series of Chambal Valley Projects. It consists of 4 units of 43 MW each(Total=172 MW).

3. Jawahar Sagar Dam: The Jawahar Sagar Dam is the third dam in the series of Chambal Valley Projects, located 29 km upstream of Kota city and 26 km downstream of Rana Pratap Sagar dam. It has installed capacity of 3 units of 33 MW (Total=99 MW).
4. Kota Barrage: Kota Barrage is the fourth in the series of Chambal Valley Projects, located about 0.8 km upstream of Kota City in Rajasthan. Kota Barrage is used only for Irrigation, Power generation is not done here. Kota barage water is used for irrigation in Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh through Two canals: a) Left canel b) Right canel.


Post a Comment